British Columbia resources

We've done the research so you don't have to.

The BC Plumbing Code is incorporated into the BC Building Code.  See the British Columbia plumbing code, 2012. Book II (available in most BC Courthouse libraries).

The Regulatory Impact Analysis Statements Act (SBC 1999 c.19) stated that the BC Ministry of Finance and Corporate Relations had to promote informed decision making by the government and regulatory authorities through the preparation and use of regulatory impact statements, and make them accountable to the public through the publication of the impact statements.

What does that mean?

Regulatory Impact Statements would have been produced by each Ministry or Regulatory Authority that was required to produce one. Under the Act, they would have sent a copy to the Ministry of Finance to be placed on a streamline website for public information.

However, the Act was repealed by the Miscellaneous Statutes Amendment Act (No. 2), 2001, SBC 2001, c. 43, s. 16, effective August 27, 2001 (by Royal Assent), and the streamline website is no longer available.

How can I find them?

The Ministry of Finance would have only kept the regulatory impact statements that they originated.  However, any statements made should also have been filed with the Office of Primary Responsibility (OPR) - the originating office - and likely archived.

Because the files are old, the OPRs have boxed up the files and sent them to offsite storage. Also, depending on how the files were categorized, and due to the amount of years that have passed, they may have been destroyed.

Try contacting the originating Ministry and request the Regulatory Impact Statements via a Freedom of Information (FOI) request. Please note that there may also be charges associated with trying to locate the files in the off-site storage.

Why did the requirements change?

BC began a regulatory reform program in 2001 by establishing the Red Tape Reduction Task Force.  All ministries were required to create an inventory of the regulatory requirements under the statutes, regulations, administrative policies and forms for which they were responsible.  Once a baseline was established, the BC government committed to review these requirements and reduce them by 33 per cent. 

BC then introduced the Regulatory Reform Policy to guide development of all new and updated legislation, regulation, policy and forms.

The Hospital Appeal Board (HAB) is an independent, quasi-judicial administrative appeal tribunal.

Originally established as the Medical Appeal Board in 1973, the HAB hears appeals of hospital board of management decisions affecting permits to practice in a hospital (hospital privileges). The mandate is prescribed in section 46(1) of the Hospital Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 200.

Section 50(4) of the Administrative Tribunals Act, S.B.C. 2004, c. 45, requires that the board make its decisions available to the public.

Preliminary and final decisions from 1973 to the present are available on the Hospital Appeal Board website.

The website also contains the HAB's Rules of Practice and Procedure and Practice Directives.

Rule 12 states that "Unless otherwise ordered by the board, hearings before the board are not open to the public."

 

References

Contacts

Hospital Appeal Board
4th Floor, 747 Fort Street
Victoria BC  V8W 3E9
Mailing Address: PO Box 9425 Stn Prov Govt, Victoria BC  V8W 9V1
Phone: (250) 387-3464
Toll free, contact Enquiry BC at 1-800-663-7867 and request a toll free transfer to connect to this office at the above number.
Fax: (250) 356-9923
Email: hab@gov.bc.ca

Current

A list of the current justices sitting on the BC Supreme Court and the BC Court of Appeal is available on the Courts of British Columbia site. The site also lists justices who retired between 1996 and the present time.

The BC Provincial Court site lists judges by district.

Historical

The British Columbia Law Reports (B.C.L.R.) list the justices sitting on the BC Supreme Court and the BC Court of Appeal in the annual volume for each year.

The annual Canadian Law List also lists the sitting justices for each year, including the judges sitting on the BC Provincial Court.

 

References

Effective April 2, 2007, notices regarding reservoir and production applications will no longer be published in the BC Gazette, Part I.

The Reservoir Application Notices can be found on the BC Oil and Gas Commission's website.

Notices for other oil and gas activities pursuant to the Pipeline Regulation, BC Regulation 281/2010 (BC Regulation 360/98 is repealed as of October 4, 2010) and the Petroleum and Natural Gas Act, R.S.B.C. 1996, c. 361 (disposal of oil and gas tenure) will continue to be published in the BC Gazette, Part I (available in the Vancouver Courthouse Library).

 

References

Oil and Gas Publication Notice, BC Gazette, Part I, April 12, 2007, page 177 (available in the Vancouver Courthouse Library)

Please note - the following list of resources is not exhaustive and does not include all resources available from Courthouse Libraries BC.

Electronic Resources
  • The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (Western) and the Canadian Abridgment through Carswell’s WestlawNext Canada database available in all courthouse library branches.
  •  
  • Halsbury’s Laws of Canada available through LexisNexis’ Quicklaw database available in all courthouse library branches.
Print Resources


Please follow the  related links to find the courthouse library locations where these resources are available.

References to bailiffs can be found in several BC statutes, including the following acts:

 

References

Additional websites with information on Bailiffs include:Consumer Protection BC
 
Ministry of Justice Courthouse Services

To search for securities violations, check:

Decisions and orders of provincial regulatory authorities

The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) website lists contacts for all jurisdictions.  Decisions of various provincial securities commissions are also searchable on CanLII and Quicklaw*.

For additional sources, see the BC Securities Commission's search guide for Regulatory Fines and Penalties.

Disciplinary decisions of self-regulatory organization

The Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC). IIROC was created through the 2008 merger of Market Regulations Services Inc. (service provider for Canadian equity markets including Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) and TSX-Venture and Investment Dealers Association (IDA).

TSX and IDA decisions dating back to the 1980s are also available on Quicklaw*.

For additional sources, see the BC Securities Commission's search guide for Regulatory Fines and Penalties.

Court decisions

Some sources: CanLII, Quicklaw* (Canadian Judgments database).

For additional sources, see the BC Securities Commission's search guide for Convictions and Litigation.

Newspapers/Industry newsletters

Some sources: FPinfomart.ca*, Stockwatch*

 

*subscriber services

 

References

Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) - contacts

CanLII

Quicklaw - available on public computer terminals in all Courthouse Libraries

BC Securities Commission - Regulatory Fines and Penalties

BC Securities Commission - Convictions and Litigation

Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada (IIROC). 

FPinfomart.ca (requires subscription)

Stockwatch (requires subscription)

Statistics and statistical information on various courts and legal matters are available from a number of different sources. Some potential resources are listed below:

Statistics Canada

StatsCan publishes documents and datasets for many justice related topics. For all topics please see the Crime and Justice webpage, but a few examples include: crimes and offencescourts, and legal aid

Juristat is an annual publication from Statistics Canada available for free. Juristat articles are included in the results of keyword searches on the StatsCan website. 

Supreme Court of Canada

The SCC publishes some of the court's statistics here.

Federal Court of Canada

The FCC publishes some of the court's statistics here.

British Columbia Court of Appeal

The BCCA publishes some of the court's statistics in the BCCA's annual reports.

Provincial Court of British Columbia

The BCPC publishes some of its statistics in various reports available here.

Justice BC

The BC government also provides statistical information regarding legal matters through the Justice BC website. The Justice Reform section of the site includes an "Understanding Justice System Statistics" information page and Justice Data page with links to several data resources including DataBC.

Wrongful Dismissal Revised and Consolidated Edition by David Harris, Volume 2 – Chapter 4:  Damages, Section 4.36 contains a Periods of Notice Awarded Chart.
(This title is available at most Courthouse Library Locations). 

  • Cases are listed in a table organized into subheadings (General, Sales and Marketing, Clerical and Secretarial etc.) – position, age, length of service, and period of notice information included.
Related

Wallace Damages - awarded in addition to wrongful dismissal damages. They relate to the manner in which a dismissal was handled by the employer rather than the dismissal itself.

Unjust Dismissal Decisions – Unjust dismissal under the Canada Labour Code is a broader concept then wrongful dismissal at common law.